The Inaugural Annual General Meeting was held on Thursday 17 September. It was a time the first AGM following incorporation in April 2016, and a time to reflect on the many achievements, and elect the new management committee.  The new committee consisting of 15 passionate and committed people were elected on the night. 

Mat Howard and Vanessa Gonzalez were elected unopposed as the new co-chairs.  Vanessa is a founding member of Rainbow Families and will take up her second term as co chair. Mat has been a member of the committee for over a year. He  has championed community consultation, and been a leader expanding the advocacy work.  We pay tribute to our Committee of Management and welcome those newly elected;

Mat Howard Co Chair
Vanessa Gonzalez Co Chair
Charmaine Flood Secretary
Rica Seeto Treasurer
Cathy Brown Ordinary Member
Cec Busby Ordinary Member
Nicholas Stewart Ordinary Member
Bern Foley Ordinary Member
Jai Reid Ordinary Member
Samantha Frain Ordinary Member
Alison Eaton Ordinary Member
Juliette Meaney Ordinary Member
Dror Hazy Ordinary Member
Claire Blewett  Ordinary Member
Ashley Scott Ex Officio member

This year we said goodbye to some great members

Ashley Scott (founding member and recent cochair) steps down from the leadership role to take up the newly created part time Community Worker position. Founding co chair and passionate volunteer Scott Brunelle steps down from the committee this year. Scott is credited as being a key driver in establishing the community organisation, making it inclusive of gay dads, and setting up a strong community brand.   Justine Harris also resigned this year. Justine brought with her a passion for parent education and welfare. The many parenting programs were established with Justine's guidance.  Also leaving this year were inaugural secretary Dianna Coffey. Diana was instrumental in drafting the constitution, seeking incorporation and building a professional response to community. 

Being our first AGM, this is our first opportunity to formally say thanks to all our previous Committee Members

Diana Coffey (inaugural secretary)
Leah Newman (Art Design and coms)
Justine Harris (Playgroups, education and welfare)
Sandra Santos ( Snow trip organiser)
Scott Williams (marketing and social media)
Justine Maguire- Scavelli (Inaugural CoChair)
Laurie Berg (Advocacy)  

We value those new committee members joining in 2017/18 and encourage you to all become involved. Become a financial member of Rainbow Families today.

All Rainbow Families  Financial Members are entitled to inspect records relating to the process and outcome of Annual General Meeting elections or copies of any previous minutes or financial statements. If you would like to inspect the records please contact us at 

Vanessa and Mat.jpg

1 Comment